David Bowie Tribute

FB_IMG_1452662311436

Image posted by Kevin Smith

I apologize – the awards will continue soon. I am dealing with some health and family issues that are requiring more of my time and energy than I would like them to be…especially the bulging disc in my back and pinched nerves making it extremely difficult to sit at the computer (rather than the tablet I am posting this from) where the awards are all stored, and where I have to make the ones not completed yet.  I do sincerely apologize for the delays, but we will take as long as we need to recognize all we feel deserving of Best of 2015 Awards!

 

FB_IMG_1452661491072

 

Image posted by The Huffington Post

But with this being a rockstar (romance) blog, it just doesn’t seem fitting to not mention the passing of such a legend.  Though I wouldn’t call myself a superfan, I definitely have been a fan for most of my 42 years.  And there is no denying the influence he had on so many other favorites, and so many “just people”.   I have seen so many moving tributes, blog postings, and other misc Bowie related things,  I thought I would take a minute to share some that particularly touched me.  I have a more relevant link I will slip in here somewhere, but speaking of “just people”, I have to share this first as it really summed up so many things, and touched on something deeply personal to me that prompted me to share it with one of the most important people in my life, who happens to be a major Bowie fan, even if this teenager had only had a few months from discovery to this point to become more of a superfan than I ever dreamed of being.   Bowie just spoke to this young piece of my heart in ways maybe even I can’t fully grasp, but the post I am about to share helped me understand the attraction more.

View story at Medium.com

(I am quoting in full, but all credit goes to the author, Sara J Benincasa)

Thank You, David Bowie, From The Weird Kids

I do not believe it is a wild exaggeration to say that there are on this earth today many people who would not be here without David Bowie — either because their parents procreated to his music or because (and this is I believe the more important group) he gave them a reason to stay alive when perhaps they did not want to. He was the patron saint of all my favorite fellow travelers: the freaks, the fags, the dykes, the queers, the weirdos of all stripes, and that most dangerous creature of all: the artist. He was the crown prince(ss) of the unusual. He was so marvelously, spectacularly weird, and he gave so many oddballs, including this one, hope.

I’m so glad we, the world at large, didn’t know about his illness. We should all be so lucky to have peace and quiet, especially the heroes among us. I don’t know how his lovely family pulled off such a wonderful final gift, but bravo.

Goodbye, you beautiful sexy gender-resistant oddball space hero. You gave the weird kids something to aspire to and dream about. We were very lucky to have you in any form, at all, ever, for as long as we got you. Thank you.

 

FB_IMG_1452661588620

Illustration by Mitchell Toy, posted by The Daily Telegraph

I promised a tie-in, so before I sink deeper into tributes, here is an article from several years ago, listing David Bowie’s list of 100 books he felt everyone should read.  Leave a comment below if you would be interested in forming/joining a David Bowie Reading Challenge based on the list.  if there is interest, I’m sure my arm could be twisted into setting something up on Facebook or GoodReads.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/music-news/10347410/David-Bowie-reveals-his-favourite-100-books.html

Though there is more to the article, here is the book list:
The Age of American Unreason, Susan Jacoby, 2008
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Junot Díaz, 2007
The Coast of Utopia (trilogy), Tom Stoppard, 2007
Teenage: The Creation of Youth 1875-1945, Jon Savage, 2007
Fingersmith, Sarah Waters, 2002
The Trial of Henry Kissinger, Christopher Hitchens, 2001
Mr. Wilson’s Cabinet of Wonder, Lawrence Weschler, 1997
A People’s Tragedy: The Russian Revolution 1890-1924, Orlando Figes, 1997
The Insult, Rupert Thomson, 1996
Wonder Boys, Michael Chabon, 1995
The Bird Artist, Howard Norman, 1994
Kafka Was The Rage: A Greenwich Village Memoir, Anatole Broyard, 1993
Beyond the Brillo Box: The Visual Arts in Post-Historical Perspective, Arthur C. Danto, 1992
Sexual Personae: Art and Decadence from Nefertiti to Emily Dickinson, Camille Paglia, 1990
David Bomberg, Richard Cork, 1988
Sweet Soul Music: Rhythm and Blues and the Southern Dream of Freedom, Peter Guralnick, 1986
The Songlines, Bruce Chatwin, 1986
Hawksmoor, Peter Ackroyd, 1985
Nowhere To Run: The Story of Soul Music, Gerri Hirshey, 1984
Nights at the Circus, Angela Carter, 1984
Money, Martin Amis, 1984
White Noise, Don DeLillo, 1984
Flaubert’s Parrot, Julian Barnes, 1984
The Life and Times of Little Richard, Charles White, 1984
A People’s History of the United States, Howard Zinn, 1980
A Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole, 1980
Interviews with Francis Bacon, David Sylvester, 1980
Darkness at Noon, Arthur Koestler, 1980
Earthly Powers, Anthony Burgess, 1980
Raw (a ‘graphix magazine’) 1980-91
Viz (magazine) 1979 –
The Gnostic Gospels, Elaine Pagels, 1979
Metropolitan Life, Fran Lebowitz, 1978
In Between the Sheets, Ian McEwan, 1978
Writers at Work: The Paris Review Interviews, ed. Malcolm Cowley, 1977
The Origin of Consciousness in the Breakdown of the Bicameral Mind, Julian Jaynes, 1976
Tales of Beatnik Glory, Ed Saunders, 1975
Mystery Train, Greil Marcus, 1975
Selected Poems, Frank O’Hara, 1974
Before the Deluge: A Portrait of Berlin in the 1920s, Otto Friedrich, 1972
In Bluebeard’s Castle: Some Notes Towards the Re-definition of Culture, George Steiner, 1971
Octobriana and the Russian Underground, Peter Sadecky, 1971
The Sound of the City: The Rise of Rock and Roll, Charlie Gillete, 1970
The Quest For Christa T, Christa Wolf, 1968
Awopbopaloobop Alopbamboom: The Golden Age of Rock, Nik Cohn, 1968
The Master and Margarita, Mikhail Bulgakov, 1967
Journey into the Whirlwind, Eugenia Ginzburg, 1967
Last Exit to Brooklyn, Hubert Selby Jr., 1966
In Cold Blood, Truman Capote, 1965
City of Night, John Rechy, 1965
Herzog, Saul Bellow, 1964
Puckoon, Spike Milligan, 1963
The American Way of Death, Jessica Mitford, 1963
The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With The Sea, Yukio Mishima, 1963
The Fire Next Time, James Baldwin, 1963
A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess, 1962
Inside the Whale and Other Essays, George Orwell, 1962
The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, Muriel Spark, 1961
Private Eye (magazine) 1961 –
On Having No Head: Zen and the Rediscovery of the Obvious, Douglas Harding, 1961
Silence: Lectures and Writing, John Cage, 1961
Strange People, Frank Edwards, 1961
The Divided Self, R. D. Laing, 1960
All The Emperor’s Horses, David Kidd, 1960
Billy Liar, Keith Waterhouse, 1959
The Leopard, Giuseppe Di Lampedusa, 1958
On The Road, Jack Kerouac, 1957
The Hidden Persuaders, Vance Packard, 1957
Room at the Top, John Braine, 1957
A Grave for a Dolphin, Alberto Denti di Pirajno, 1956
The Outsider, Colin Wilson, 1956
Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov, 1955
Nineteen Eighty-Four, George Orwell, 1949
The Street, Ann Petry, 1946
Black Boy, Richard Wright, 1945

 

  1. FB_IMG_1452662277026

Unfortunately I do not have a photo credit for this one, but felt appropriate to post this picture of Mr. Bowie with another recently departed music icon, Lemmy Kilminster.

Another worthy article:  http://www.vice.com/read/david-bowie-is-the-reason-were-all-here

FB_IMG_1452662349032

http://www.nme.com/blogs/nme-blogs/how-david-bowie-told-us-he-was-dying-in-the-lazarus-video – When I saw the video for Lazarus over the weekend, I had an eerie feeling that it had a deeper message, much like when I saw Johnny Cash’s video for Hurt, but I sure wasn’t expecting it to come to fruition so quickly.  The article summarizes it more succinctly and eloquently than I can.

FB_IMG_1452662368393

It would be easy to go on sharing the many great tributes, but as I am getting weary of the day, I will end with one last, powerful, yet short and to the point, share.

 

http://www.vox.com/2016/1/12/10755600/celebrity-death-grief?utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&utm_campaign=voxdotcom&utm_content=tuesday

FB_IMG_1452664672953

Rest in Peace, to the icon of many personalities and mediums.  Your legacy will continue, as your star will long shine on throughout the many changes the years to come may hold.  Thoughts, prayers and healing wishes with your lovely wife and family.

Finally, I would like to thank a number of my Facebook friends who initially shared these articles and pictures for me to reflect on :  Jill, Lee, Neeny, Edie, Amy, Dynasty and others I apologize for forgetting to mention.  It has been a testimony to his incredible influence and ethereal presence the sheer volume of posts relating to him that have been filling my timeline since the news broke.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

