Review: Flow by Kennedy Ryan

Flow (Grip, #0.5)Flow by Kennedy Ryan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

5 Slightly Electrified Guitars for Flow

Pure poetic alchemy. I don’t know what else to say about this book/novella, but if I had to sum it up in 3 words, those would be the ones. For some reason, alchemy has always been a favorite word of mine, and it was used at least twice in this book. Both in passages I highlighted because they moved me. I found I highlighted many passages in this one – okay, I highlight passages in nearly every book I read, but there were seriously a lot of highlights in this one. I have read books by this author before, and I will definitely be revisiting them after I read Grip and Bristol’s book. I have some vague memories of the others, but I don’t remember the almost melodic flow of poetic prose that I heard and felt as I read flow.

I am including this in my rockstar romance category/blog, simply because music is an integral part of the book, but the rockstar part is pushing things. Grip is a yet to be discovered rapper, and Rhyson is a piano virtuoso hiding from the scars his child prodigy notoriety earned him. Bristol is Rhyson’s twin sister who is desperately trying to reconnect with her brother over her Spring Break from her Ivy League life on the east coast. She arrives in LA to be greeted by her brother’s best friend, Marlon aka Grip. Someone she has never heard of, and shouldn’t be so comfortable around, but there is a sizzling chemistry from the time Grip’s hand covers Bristol’s on the handle of her Louis Vuitton luggage. They may both try to fight it, with the millions of reasons why they shouldn’t be attached to each other, let alone act on that undeniable attraction that leads to deep conversations (and sizzling kisses) that are intertwined in such poetic ways. Most of the rest of this review is going to take on a different style from my norm – I am actually going to let y’all into my highlights and notes along the way.

One more note, the slightly electrified designation- I am not sure if I have used it before. There are no actual sexy times in this book, but there are enough references to skew it away from the under 18 crowd. Guess I should have used Acoutic/Electric since that is a real thing and I use acoustic for clean reads and electric for the, ahem, less clean ones, but I didn’t think of it until now.

But I want to share some of Ms Ryan’s lovely prose with you – I can’t think of a better way to convince you this is a must read.

” I like the color of smart, the shade of funny, and sexy is my favorite hue.”

I certainly understand why this passage has been highlighted enough to be “notable”. It is very deep. Though I am much more Bristol than I would probably care to admit, this applies to me completely. I have always dated long haired musicians, and I am well aware that they are viewed much as another species in certain circles – especially the circles of Rhys and Bris’ parents. But the traits in this passage – those are what I look for in the people I surround myself with, and the traits I have tried to instill in my children to look for in the friends they make, the people they cherish.

☆☆☆☆☆☆

“So what color am I then?” I ask before thinking better of it. He’ll probably just say I’m white, obviously. “What color are you?” he repeats, his eyes never leaving my face. “You, Bristol, are a freaking prism.”

Oh this….this is heartstopping. My ideas of romance are admittedly skewed, but that would undo me to the core. To me, that is about as romantic a statement anyone could make (says the girl who’s husband tells everyone we have to keep stocked up on mayonnaise in case I need a transfusion….)

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” She carries on a helluva conversation, which from my experience, is a lost art.”

See note below….this is too true, and really breaks my heart. I am guessing this is how older generations than I felt about telephones killing the art of letter writing…which makes me even sadder as there has not been a resurgence of that beauty….

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” We talked about things we don’t understand and aren’t sure we ever will. Things we thought we had figured out, only to realize we didn’t know jack shit. It feels fresh like a beginning, but it also feels like we’ve known each other for years.”

These are some of the best things in life. I agree with Grip, conversation is becoming a lost art, and may be one of the things that makes me saddest for the millineal generation. (Too lazy to come up with the correct spelling at the moment, and embarrassed and a bit scared that it isn’t coming naturally to me. The thrills of chronic illness.)

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” He’s lightning in a beautiful bottle, just waiting to strike.”

More poetic genius. I don’t remember this author being so profound…I am thinking a reread is in order. I will admit I only vaguely remember Rhyson and Bristol and Grip, and Rhyson’s girlfriend whose name I won’t even pretend to remember. I know the books I read were set further in the future than this…Bristol and Rhys having more of a relationship, Grip making a video…Definitely need to revisit.

☆☆☆☆☆☆

“There are too few perfect moments in this life. Far too few of us get them, but I am privileged to have this one with this man. When he empties his chest of his heart and empties his body of his soul for me under a starry sky on a Ferris wheel. And I know. In this moment, I know that I’m lost to him. It has been a matter of days. It has been a string of moments. It has not been long enough to tell him, but in my heart, I know I am lost.”

So beautifully stated, so truly romantic.

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” The inches between our lips disappear. At the first brush of his mouth on mine, I know this kiss will never end. It will live on in my memory for the rest of my life. His lips beg entry, a tentative touch that blazes through my defenses and hastens the rhythm of my heart.”

Again, easy to see why it has been noted enough times for that dotted underline. Powerful. Poetic. Sheer romance.

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” This kiss has a cadence, his head moving to the left and then right, on beat, a syncopation, a simultaneity of lips and tongues. His mouth slants over mine, hot and zealous, and I link my fingers behind his head, clinging, afraid this will end. Afraid to lose the enormity of this moment. At the top of the world, so close we could almost touch the sky and with only the stars watching, I found out what a kiss should be.”

More of that awe-inspiring, beautiful, romantic poetry.

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” Her sharp breath is her only reply, but I rest my lips against hers to taste her consent.”

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” The current tugs at our bodies as the tide comes in, and clinging to each other, we let the flow take us. With our mouths still fused, legs still tangled, tongues hungry and twisting together, we drift into deeper waters. Complex and effortless.”

☆☆☆☆☆☆

” The unexpected alchemy that’s been flowing between us since the moment we met. It’s layered and complicated, and yet, there’s no struggle, no force. It feels easy. Effortless. It feels so good, I can’t imagine this ending.”

☆☆☆☆☆☆

Of course, there is more drama that I am skipping over, and a heart wrenching ending – you just have to pick it up and see for yourself. And then, I am pretty sure you will feel as I do – needing to sink into the full length novel, Grip, as quickly as possible.

View all my reviews

5-guitar-small

Leave a Reply

